The overall aim of the project is to support Alpine rural areas to fully embrace the benefits of digitalization and smart transition in order to create a functional, transnational community in the Alps, within the EUSALP AG5 Smart Alps network.

Through leading by example, new areas will be empowered to follow more advanced areas, developing a community approach to create smarter, greener, more sustainable, resilient, and attractive rural areas and enhance transnational matchmaking with interactive and user-friendly digital tools. The project aims at creating this functional network of areas that can inspire one another and move together, in order for all to feel stronger and  more motivated and to move forward in a structured way, both in terms of its EUSALP framework and of the use of common digital tools and a common transnational dialogue.

SmartCommUnity believes that an effective smart transition of the Alps relies on the local areas being part of a structured community that can provide knowledge, tools, dialogue, feasible actions and effectively influence policies.

Project name: Smart CommUnity – Building on the concept of Smart Villages towards a transnational and EUSALP-integrated Smart Community in the Alps

Project code: ASP0100041

Programme: Interreg Alpine Space Programme

Project budget: 2,961,287.61 €

Duration: 36 months (1.11.2022-31.10.2025)

Project website:



  1. University of Ljubljana (SI)
  2. Poliedra – research and consultancy centre of Milan’s Polytechnic University on environmental and territorial planning (IT)
  3. Development Agency GAL Genovese (IT)
  4. Standortagentur Tirol GmbH (AT)
  5. Regionalverband Südlicher Oberrhein (DE)
  6. ITC – Innovation Technology Cluster Murska Sobota (SI)
  7. Association for the networked development of territories and services – ADRETS (FR)
  8. Autonomous Region of Valle d’Aosta (IT)
  9. Swiss Center for mountain regions SAB (CH)
  10. Energy and Environment Agency of Lower Austria (AT)
  11. Software Competence Center Hagenberg GmbH (AT)
  12. Region Lucerne West (CH)